Quotable TV Shows: Gilmore Girls

They just don’t make TV like they used to.  The vast majority of my must-watch shows these days consist of crime dramas.  Which I love, don’t get me wrong, but I haven’t found a feel-good show that I love to watch just because it makes me happy.  At least not since Gilmore Girls went off the air.  I watch reruns like an addict and occasionally go on coffee and junk food binges a la Lorelai and Rory because they make it look so awesome.  Here are some of my favorite things ever said on the show.

Image

1.1, “Pilot”
Rory: You look happy.
Lorelai: Yeah.
Rory: Did you do something slutty?
Lorelai: I’m not that happy.

1.9, “Rory’s Dance”
Emily: Since when do you not like avocado?
Lorelai: Since the day I said, “Gross, what is this?” and you said, “Avocado.”
1.21, “Love, Daisies, and Troubadours”
Lorelai: Luke, we sleep around here.  Okay, we like it.  It makes us pretty, and keeps us from killing our crazy friends!

2.17, “Dead Uncles and Vegetables”
Taylor: Late again, are we?
Lorelai: Yes, I hope I’m not pregnant.
2.22, “I Can’t Get Started”
Oy with the poodles already.

3.7, “They Shoot Gilmores, Don’t They?”
Lorelai: Stanley bailed.
Rory: No! Why?
Lorelai: Apparently Miss Patty showed his wife a picture of me and she thinks I look like Elizabeth Taylor, which makes her Debbie Reynolds, and Stanley Eddie Fisher.
Rory: That’s crazy.
Lorelai: Especially if you’ve seen Stanley.  He’s no Eddie Fisher, trust me.  Fisher Stevens, maybe.
Rory: Can you talk to her?
Lorelai: Apparently only at my own risk.
Emily: Well, at least she thought you looked like Elizabeth Taylor, that was nice.
Lorelai: I have no partner.
Rory: You’ll find another one.
Emily: Elizabeth Taylor always did.

3.22, “Those Are Strings, Pinocchio”
Taylor: People, do I have to detail the problems these deer cause?
Luke: No, but you will.
Taylor: Lyme disease, auto accidents, plane accidents.
Luke: We have flying deer?
Miss Patty: Oh, that’s scary.
Babette: Yeah, those ones you can snuff.

4.20, “Luke Can See Her Face”
Lorelai: I can’t stop drinking the coffee!  I stop drinking the coffee, I stop doing the standing and the walking and the words-putting-into-sentence-doing.

5.17, “Pulp Friction”
Lorelai: Cluelessness is the mother of invention.

Leave a comment