Home

You can never go home again, but the truth is you can never leave home, so it’s all right.  – Maya Angelou, Conversations with Maya Angelou

I’ve been in California since Friday for one of my semi-annual trips home.  It’s been a great, exhausting trip.  We’ve been all the way from San Diego to San Francisco with a few stops in between.  I’ve gotten to do some quintessential California things that I like to do every time I come home: touching my toes in the Pacific Ocean, eating Chinese food, driving across the Golden Gate Bridge…it makes me happy to come back and do all these silly and completely nostalgic things.

It also makes me feel really weird to come back to my childhood home.  Sometimes I feel like I’ve done so much and traveled so far to places I never felt I would or could, and yet every time I come here I’m startled by how much space I take up in the bathroom.  I expect to look in the mirror and see my 12-year old self looking back, rather than the almost-23-year-old that is actually standing there.  It’s the most bizarre feeling.

As much as I’ve enjoyed being in California again (nothing smells like that ocean), I’m also excited to be heading back to my other home.  Fort Worth is calling with horses, a new job, and my sweet puppy who I always miss like crazy.

Leave a comment