Summer Reading

Source: Tumblr

I’ve been an avid reader all my life.  I was quiet growing up and usually preferred to be in my room with a book (typically about horses) than spending time with peers I may or may not have liked.  That’s not to say I’ve gobbled up tons of enriching literature (I only wish I was Rory Gilmore), but the number of books that have fallen into my hands over the years is immeasurable.  Once I got to college, I read for pleasure far less; I suppose that it was too much mental energy to invest in a new world like that when I was already spent on trying to understand all those textbooks.  Instead, I watched way too much mindless TV.  Now that I’m a full-fledged “adult,” I’ve been trying to get back to books.  I was incredibly proud of myself for getting engrossed and finishing The Dovekeepers, which my mom had recommended to be months before I started reading it.  It was fabulous, and I immediately picked up another book that had been sitting on my shelf, unread, for almost a year.  Since this summer is all about keeping myself happy, I’ve made it a goal to read some new books I’ve been intending to tackle, and revisit some old favorites.

1. The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver.  I picked up a hardcover copy of this book for nothing on the bargain shelf at Barnes & Noble I don’t even know how long ago.  Kingsolver is possibly my favorite author ever, but this big novel was intimidating to me as I was running around exhausted from a job I hated and trying to find my real-world footing after graduating college.  I’ve finally started it.  I’m taking my time, reading a few pages in the morning with my coffee, a few pages a night before I go to bed, and maybe a little more on my days off when I feel ready to engage in it.

2. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (And Other Concerns)? by Mindy Kaling.  I have the electronic version of this book on my Kindle, which goes with me everywhere so I always have something to read when life gets slow unexpectedly.  It’s the perfect book to pick up for a few minutes when one of my clients is running a little late, or I’m sitting at the doctor’s office waiting my turn.

3. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.  I’m certain I’ve read Jane Eyre before at some point in my life, but I cannot remember my experience of reading it.  I can tell you the significant plot points, but literally have no recollection of sitting down with the book.  Since I have it, it’s on my list to read this summer so that when everyone I know talks about how amazing it is, I can honestly and actively contribute to the conversation.

4. Frozen Heat by Richard Castle.  So, in college when I wasn’t reading much for myself, all I did read was very light chick lit and crime novels.  I became addicted.  I’ve been a fan of the show Castle since it started, and when I first saw Heat Wave in Borders a couple years ago, I bought it for my mom as a jokey Christmas gift.  Little did I know then, the books are actually really entertaining, and pretty well written.  All of the Nikki Heat books are published as if Richard Castle were really a best-selling author (I wish I knew who actually writes them!), and there are so many references to things that happen in the show.  Anyway, the fourth installment comes out September 11th, which I’m still going to count as summer because it’s the kind of thing that I’ll spend all night reading.

5. Animal Dreams by Barbara Kingsolver.  I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve read this book.  As I said earlier, Barbara Kingsolver is probably my favorite author, largely due to this book.  I first read it during my junior year of high school (not for class) and loved it.  My senior year, it was assigned reading.  I think I was the only person in class who actually read it since it was after AP testing and everyone was more concerned about life after graduation than reading another book.  Since, I’ve read it at least once a year, often around the same time as a big change or rough patch in my life.  No matter how many times I read it, I always find a new part that speaks to what I’m going through at that time.  The title of this blog actually comes from a quote in this book: “What keeps you going isn’t some fine destination but just the road you’re on, and the fact that you know how to drive. You keep your eyes open, you see this damned-to-hell world you got born into, and you ask yourself, ‘What life can I live that will let me breathe in & out and love somebody or something and not run off screaming into the woods?'”  I cannot recommend this book enough, especially to young women who feel they’re on a journey of self-discovery.

Leave a comment